UK Announces Groundbreaking Visa Change for GCC and Jordanian Visitors: Easier Travel with Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA)

Mohamed Aboshanab

The United Kingdom has recently unveiled a momentous visa change that will revolutionize travel for visitors from the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, and Jordan. The UK Government has made a significant announcement regarding visit visa requirements for GCC nationals, bringing exciting opportunities for seamless entry into the country. This move will remove the need for visas and introduce the Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system, offering extended travel authorization at an incredibly affordable price. Let’s delve into the details of this groundbreaking development.

Elevated Travel Experience with Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA):
Effective immediately, citizens from the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, and Jordan will no longer be burdened with visa requirements to visit the UK. Instead, they will be provided with an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) that will grant them a remarkable two-year travel authorization at a mere cost of £10 ($12). This pivotal change ensures that Gulf travelers and Jordanians will now have entry requirements on par with citizens from the United States and Australia, streamlining travel and fostering international connections.

Revamping the UK Visa Rule:
Previously, GCC nationals had to undergo the cumbersome process of applying for a £30 ($37) document for each separate visit to the UK. However, with this monumental change, nationals from the GCC states and Jordan will only need to pay £10 to acquire an ETA. This remarkable reduction in cost is a significant improvement compared to the current Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) scheme, where Gulf nationals pay £30 per visit. Similarly, Jordanian nationals will also experience enhanced affordability, with their previous visit visa cost of £100 being replaced by the much lower ETA fee.

Mohamed Aboshanab on LinkedIn: #ukvisachange #gcc #jordan #travelauthorization #seamlesstravel...

🌟 Exciting News for GCC Nationals and Jordanians! 🌟 🇬🇧 will join the GCC 🇦🇪🇸🇦🇵🇸🇶🇦🇧🇭🇴🇲 The United…

Rollout Plan and Digital Transformation:
The implementation of this cutting-edge ETA scheme is scheduled to commence for Qatari nationals in October 2023. Subsequently, the rest of the Gulf Cooperation Council states and Jordan will follow suit in February 2024. The UK government’s plan includes a worldwide expansion throughout 2024, highlighting its commitment to a digitized UK border by 2025. This digital transformation aims to fortify border security while providing a seamless and efficient customer experience, embracing the advancements of the digital era.

Endorsement from Immigration Minister and Minister of State:
Immigration Minister Robert Jenrick expressed his enthusiasm for this transformative change, acknowledging the immense contribution made by visitors from the Gulf states and Jordan to the UK’s thriving tourism industry. He emphasized that the ETA scheme offers exceptional value compared to similar international programs, allowing for easier and more affordable travel. By implementing this scheme, the UK can bolster border security, ensuring the safety of its communities.

Minister of State for the Middle East, North Africa, and South Asia, Lord Ahmad, expressed his delight in extending this electronic travel authorization scheme to the UK’s valued partners across the Gulf and Jordan. This collaboration signifies the UK’s strong partnership with countries in the region. The ETA scheme, by reducing costs and simplifying visa requirements, will facilitate seamless travel, fostering business and tourism links between the UK and the Gulf states and Jordan.

Economic Impact and Alignment with International Visitors:
Gulf visitors are highly valued contributors to the UK economy, with over 790,000 individuals spending a staggering £2 billion ($2.5 billion) during their stays in the United Kingdom last year. With the transition to the ETA scheme, visa requirements will be lifted for nationals from the GCC states and Jordan, harmonizing their travel requirements with other visitors, such as those from the United States and Australia. This change further strengthens the UK’s position as an attractive destination for global travelers.

Simple Application Process and Digital Convenience

The UK 🇬🇧 is making a major visa change for visitors from the MENA region. Nationals from UAE 🇦🇪, Saudi Arabia 🇸🇦, Qatar 🇶🇦, Bahrain 🇧🇭, Oman 🇴🇲, and Jordan 🇯🇴 will no longer require visas to enter the UK. #UKVisaChange #MENA #SeamlessTravel

👨‍💼 International lawyer with expertise in immigration, tax, citizenship & business
🛂 Multiple passports & residency in 8+ countries
💼 Done business with 50+ countries, helped 1000+ people move & start businesses
💬 Book a consultation:
💻 Join membership:
🌐 Website:
👥 Join my community on Locals
📱 Join my community on Telegram:
👥 Join my Facebook group:
📲 Join my WhatsApp group:

🔍 Use #PassportBros #GlobalCitizen #immigration #lawyer #business #aboshanab #nomoreties #buildinginpublic #askmeanything #Passport to connect on social media

Sub to Newsletter

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Suspendisse varius enim in eros elementum tristique.

We promise not to send you any unsolicited emails.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
a man holding a phone